Tony Bellew says, 'your shorts shouldn't cover your naval 'cos if they do the belt can be hit!' as former boxer leads social media reaction to Oleksandr Usyk's controversial win over Daniel Dubois

Tony Bellew says, ‘your shorts shouldn’t cover your naval ‘cos if they do the belt can be hit!’ as former boxer leads social media reaction to Oleksandr Usyk’s controversial win over Daniel Dubois

  • Fans have been voiced their opinions on Oleksandr Usyk’s win vs Daniel Dubois 
  • Dubois hit Usyk with a blow to the abdomen that was deemed low by the referee 
  • It sparked commentary from many in the boxing world including Tony Bellew 

Tony Bellew has voiced his opinions on a controversial punch that saw Oleksandr Usyk drop to the canvas during the fifth round of his victory against Daniel Dubois

The British fighter floored the heavyweight champion with a blow to the abdomen, that knocked Usyk backwards and onto the ropes. 

The Ukrainian was given a time-out with the referee deeming the punch to be below the belt. 

It took Usyk four minutes to recover but afterwards, he went on to knock Dubois down in the eighth round before landing a right hand on the Brit, to send him to the floor once again in the ninth. 

The referee subsequently ruled that Dubois could not continue the fight, with Usyk going on to extend his record to 21-0-0. 

Oleksandr Usyk was dropped to the canvas by Daniel Dubois during his victory against the British fighter

Oleksandr Usyk was dropped to the canvas by Daniel Dubois during his victory against the British fighter

Dubois (pictured) appeared to strike Usyk in the abdomen but the referee saw it to be a low blow, giving Usyk time to recover while also causing much controversy on social media

Dubois (pictured) appeared to strike Usyk in the abdomen but the referee saw it to be a low blow, giving Usyk time to recover while also causing much controversy on social media

Tony Bellew has spoken out on Oleksandr Usyk's victory against Daniel Dubois

Tony Bellew has spoken out on Oleksandr Usyk’s victory against Daniel Dubois

After the bout Dubois claimed that he had been ‘cheated‘ and looked on as his opponent celebrated the victory. 

The controversial decision has earned much commentary from those within the sport and fans online, with former WBC cruiserweight champion Tony Bellew weighing in on the discussion over whether Dubois had actually landed a low blow on his opponent. 

Writing on Twitter following the fight, he said:’ Anything below the naval is classed as low in boxing! That’s not my opinion, that’s a FACT! That’s the rules!

‘Your shorts shouldn’t cover your naval ‘cos if they do the belt can be hit! This pictured says a thousand words! Spew it once and you’ll spew it again is also another fact!’ 

Plenty of other boxing fans have spoken their minds on the punch that has sparked much commentary. 

Social media star Big John said in a video posted on Twitter: ‘Dubois definitely was cheated, he was definitely world heavy weight champion. 

‘That was not a low blow. Usyk didn’t like it. Dubois, well done mate, you made Usyk look old in there. Not right. Not good.’ 

Others took to Twitter to concur with him with one saying: ‘Usyk has high trunks (Shouldn’t be allowed). And in addition to that, punch lands on the belt line. Fair punch. And Dubois was robbed…’

Another wrote: ‘Wow, replay appears to suggest that may have been a legal punch from Daniel Dubois. Debatable, landed right on the belt line.

Usyk (left) took four minutes to recover from the punch before continuing and going on to win via a ninth round stoppage

Usyk (left) took four minutes to recover from the punch before continuing and going on to win via a ninth round stoppage

Usyk (middle) subsequently called out Tyson Fury following the victory claiming 'he was ready' for the Gypsy King

Usyk (middle) subsequently called out Tyson Fury following the victory claiming ‘he was ready’ for the Gypsy King

Many other fans and those from the world of boxing have also voiced their opinions on the punch that left Usyk on the canvas in round five of the bout

Many other fans and those from the world of boxing have also voiced their opinions on the punch that left Usyk on the canvas in round five of the bout 

‘Oleksandr Usyk may have been knocked out with a body shot if not for the referee ruling it a low blow. Usyk gets time to recover and the fight continues.’ 

‘We should be talking about how Usyk was stopped in 5. He was clearly hurt and dropped by a clean body shot…’ another said. 

Meanwhile, former WBO light-middleweight champion Liam Smith said: ‘It WAS low, whether his protector is high or not (which should of been pulled at the start of the fight if team Dubious felt it was high) it’s just below waistband. 

‘Ye, Usyk milked the time he was allowed but, no one can answer whether he stays down if the ref counts it.’