Home News Anthony Joshua vs Francis Ngannou Prize Money: How much each figther is...

Anthony Joshua vs Francis Ngannou Prize Money: How much each figther is expected to earn from titanic clash between two of the fighting world's biggest stars

3
0

  •  Anthony Joshua vs Francis Ngannou will take place on Friday, March 7 at the Kingdom Arena in Riyadh, Saudi Arabia 
  • Ngannou is expected to earn a bigger payout for his second professional boxing fight after reportedly earning $10m for his debut fight against Tyson Fury
  • Anthony Joshua is expected to earn more than half of what his Cameroonian opponent will earn 

This Friday, March 7 sees the clash of two fighting champions at the Kingdom Arena in Riyadh, Saudi Arabia. 

One is a former boxing world champion who is looking to claw his way back to the top of the sport.

Whilst the other left the MMA at the height of his success to pursue a career in the boxing world. 

Anthony Joshua vs Francis Ngannou has been one of the most hyped boxing matches since their heavyweight bout was confirmed back in January.

Both fighters hold an impeccable CV as Joshua is a former world champion in boxing and Ngannou dominated the MMA scene and even left the sport still in possession of the UFC heavyweight championship title. 

Joshua and Ngannou, two of the fighting world's biggest names are set to pocket a hefty amount of cash for their fight this weekend, with the winner walking away with a mouth-watering sum of money

Joshua and Ngannou, two of the fighting world’s biggest names are set to pocket a hefty amount of cash for their fight this weekend, with the winner walking away with a mouth-watering sum of money

Anthony Joshua is hoping this fight will put him back amongst the best of the best heavyweight fighters as he looks to continue his boxing redemption after his back o back defeats against Oleksandr Usyk

Anthony Joshua is hoping this fight will put him back amongst the best of the best heavyweight fighters as he looks to continue his boxing redemption after his back o back defeats against Oleksandr Usyk

Ngannou dominated the heavyweight division in the UFC and was heavily critised for leaving the sport still champion in order to pursue a boxing fight with Tyson Fury

Ngannou dominated the heavyweight division in the UFC and was heavily critised for leaving the sport still champion in order to pursue a boxing fight with Tyson Fury

With such high profile names comes a big price tag for the prize money that will be dished out for the fight. 

What is the prize money for Joshua vs Ngannou

Joshua and Ngannou’s respective earnings for the fight set to take place this Friday have yet to be made public.

However a report by the Sports Business Journal stated that 34-year-old Joshua is reportedly expected to earn $50million (£39m) for his role in the bout.

His opponent Ngannou is reported to be taking home $20m (£15m) for showing up to take on Joshua. 

These figures are also endorsed by Forbes and does not factor in pay-per-view points. 

If the reported figures are confirmed this will be a significant increase from Ngannou’s first professional boxing match with Tyson Fury.

According to Fury, the Cameroonian earned $10m (£7m) for the fight which saw him knock down the ‘Gypsy King’ before eventually losing on points decision. 

Ring walks 

The event is scheduled to take place on Friday, March 8 at the Kingdom Arena.

The undercard fights are due to get underway around 5pm UK time / 10am PT / 12pm CT / 1pm ET.

 Joshua and Ngannou are expected to enter the ring around 10:30pm UK time / 3:30pm PT / 5:30 CT / 6:30 ET. 

Both fighters are expected to make their ring walks around 10:30pm UK time on Friday, March 7 in the Kingdom Arena in Riyadh, Saudi Arabia

Both fighters are expected to make their ring walks around 10:30pm UK time on Friday, March 7 in the Kingdom Arena in Riyadh, Saudi Arabia

Full fight card 

  • Anthony Joshua vs Francis Ngannou (heavyweight)
  • Zhilei Zhang (C) vs Joseph Parker (WBO interim heavyweight title) 
  • Rey Vargas (C) vs Nick Ball (WBC featherweight title) 
  • Gavin Gwynne vs Mark Chamberlain (lightweight) 
  • Justis Huni vs Kevin Lerena (heavyweight) 
  • Jack McGann vs TBA (super-welterweight) 
  • Roman Fury vs TBA (cruiserweight)